Yearbook Quality of the Media

fög examines the current changes taking place in the Swiss media landscape in the course of a year. This study focuses on the press, radio, TV and online media. In seperate analyses, complementary in-depth studies focus on selected sectors of politics, the economy and society.

Yearbook 2016 – What is new?

The latest edition of the Yearbook is handier and comes with several innovations.

First, we substantially elaborated our method used for the “quality scoring”. Our established concept now has been supplemented with additional indicators, which allows us to measure diversity, among others, in an even more valid way. Furthermore, we have changed from content-analyzing front-page and lead stories to content-analyzing whole editions and newscasts. The random sample from 2015 yielded 25,389 news items from 64 different news outlets.

Second, data from content analysis are part of the research project Medienqualitätsrating (MQR-16) [Media Quality Rating MQR-16], where data on media quality derived from content analysis is systematically linked with survey data on media quality evaluated by the audience. With this new survey, we are able to show empirically that the normative concept of media quality used for the quality scoring in the Yearbook is shared by the general public.

Third, in 2016, fög become the Swiss partner of an international large-scale project conducted by the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at the University of Oxford. The Reuters Digital News Report is published annually, containing survey data on the news consumption in 26 countries. Switzerland was included for the first time in 2016. From this year on, parts of the results will also be discussed in the Yearbook. This rich data allows us, for instance, to contextualize the specific news preferences of young adults in Switzerland within a wider international perspective.

Our quality concept

The quality concept which the Yearbook has been using since its first edition in 2010 is derived from the basic foundations of a functioning democracy. These function criteria are widely shared in society. They can be found in legal texts on broadcasters with public service obligations, in the guidelines of professional news organizations, in the charters of press and media councils and in social-scientific theories of media quality.

These normative criteria have been translated into four general quality dimensions, i.e. relevance, diversity, contextualization, and professionalism.

The quality dimension relevance is based on the principle that, in public communication, the “general” should have priority over the “particular” and the “social” over the “private”. Accordingly, we are interested in the distribution of hard news vs. soft news or in the importance of media reports on institutional procedures compared to personalized reporting.

The quality dimension diversity is based on the principle that no topic, no opinion and no actor should be excluded in principle from public communication. This is why a diverse media coverage is essential. In the Yearbook, we consider a type of public communication as particularly diverse when the media conduct their news coverage with a variety of topics and geographical spaces.

The quality dimension contextualization is derived from the expectation that the media should provide more than just mere reporting and description of events but a contextualization of events. This contextualization is done when the media put current events into more long-term perspective and link them to other topics.

The quality dimension professionalism, a necessary condition for the media to fulfill their functions, is founded in the role conceptions of journalism itself. Main indicators used in the Yearbook in this dimension are objectivity, source transparency, and the degree of in-house reporting (compared to reliance on material produced by others).

Aim of the Yearbook Quality of the Media

This annual publication is designed to strengthen the awareness of media quality and to stimulate discussion on the transformation of our public sphere.

The Yearbook Quality of the Media is an information resource for media professionals, managers from the worlds of politics and business, the academia and for everyone who wishes to be actively involved with the development of our media and their contents.

Who is behind the Yearbook Quality of the Media?

The fög is responsible for the Yearbook. With the Yearbook, we have been striving for an interdisciplinary approach to analyzing public communication and thus social change.

The decision to publish the Yearbook was promoted by the independent and nonprofit Kurt Imhof Foundation for Media Quality (former Foundation for the Public Sphere and Society), which sponsors the project.

The project was inspired by its sole model to date, namely the annual documentation “The State of the News Media. An Annual Report on American Journalism” (Project for Excellence (PEW)), which is funded by The Pew Charitable Trusts in the United States.

Support the Yearbook

Donations to the Kurt Imhof Foundation for Media Quality may be made to:

IBAN CH28 0070 0110 0019 9753 1

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Jahrbuch

Jahrbuch Qualität der Medien

Noch mehr Resultate: Kapitel Medienstrukturen, Kapitel Medienqualität, Kapitel Presse&Web, Kapitel Rundfunk&Web, Kapitel Social Media

Neuerungen im Jahrbuch 2016

Die jüngste Publikation ist handlicher und von einigen Neuerungen geprägt.

Einerseits wurde die Methodik des Qualitätsscorings erheblich erweitert. Das etablierte Konzept wurde um weitere Indikatoren ergänzt, was u.a. eine noch validere Messung der Qualitätsdimension Vielfalt ermöglicht. Zudem basiert die Analyse der Berichterstattungsqualität neu auf dem Gesamtangebot der Informationsmedien und nicht mehr nur auf den Frontseiten- bzw. Aufmacherbeiträgen. Die Zufallsstichprobe aus dem Jahr 2015 berücksichtigt 25 389 Beiträge aus 64 Medien.

Zweitens fliessen die Daten auch in das Forschungsprojekt Medienqualitätsrating (MQR-16) mit ein, das die Analyse der Berichterstattungsqualität mit einer Befragung zur Qualitätswahrnehmung des Publikums kombiniert. Mit dieser Befragung konnte empirisch bestätigt werden, dass die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer das dem Jahrbuch Qualität der Medien zugrunde liegende normative Qualitätsverständnis teilen.

Drittens ist das fög neu an einer Grossstudie beteiligt, die durch das Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism an der University of Oxford durchgeführt wird. Der Bericht Reuters Digital News Report erscheint jährlich und enthält Umfragedaten zum Mediennutzungsverhalten für 26 Länder, neu auch für die Schweiz. Die umfassenden Ergebnisse dieser Studie sind ab diesem Jahr Teil des Jahrbuchs. Sie ermöglichen es beispielsweise, detaillierte Erkenntnisse über die Mediennutzungspräferenzen von jungen Erwachsenen in der Schweiz und im internationalen Vergleich zu gewinnen.

Wozu das Jahrbuch

Das Jahrbuch Qualität der Medien ist eine informative Quelle für Medienschaffende, Füh­rungskräfte aus Politik und Wirtschaft, für die Wissenschaft und alle, die sich mit der Entwicklung unserer Medien und deren Inhalten auseinandersetzen wollen. Es will das Bewusstsein für die Qualität der Medien stärken die Diskussion über den Wandel unserer medialen Öffentlichkeit anregen.

Das Qualitätsverständnis

Das Qualitätsverständnis, auf dem dieses Jahrbuch seit seinem erstmaligen Erscheinen im Jahr 2010 beruht, leitet sich aus den Grundvoraussetzungen einer funktionierenden Demokratie ab. Diese Leistungskriterien sind gesellschaftlich breit verankert. Sie finden sich in den gesetzlichen Anforderungen an den öffentlichen und privaten Rundfunk mit Leistungsauftrag, in den Leitbildern des professionellen Journalismus, in den Satzungen von Presse- und Medienräten und in sozialwissenschaftlichen Theorien zur Qualitätsanalyse.

Die normativen Leistungskriterien wurden in vier allgemein anerkannte Qualitätsdimensionen, nämlich Relevanz, Vielfalt, Einordnungsleistung und Professionalität übersetzt.

Die Qualitätsdimension Relevanz gründet auf dem Prinzip, dass in der öffentlichen Kommunikation das Allgemeine gegenüber dem Partikulären und das Gesellschaftliche gegenüber dem Privaten Vorrang haben. Entsprechend interessiert das Verhältnis von Hardnews gegenüber Softnews oder das Gewicht von Beiträgen über institutionelle Vorgänge gegenüber Personenberichterstattung.

Die Qualitätsdimension Vielfalt leitet sich davon ab, dass kein Thema, keine Meinung und kein Akteur prinzipiell von der öffentlichen Kommunikation ausgeschlossen werden soll. Deshalb ist eine vielfältige Berichterstattung ein unabdingbares Qualitätserfordernis. In diesem Jahrbuch wird jene Form öffentlicher Kommunikation als besonders vielfältig erachtet, bei der aus vielen verschiedenen inhaltlichen und geografischen Blickwinkeln über das Geschehen berichtet wird.

Die Qualitätsdimension Einordnungsleistung bezieht sich auf den Anspruch, dass Medien über die reine Meldung aktueller Ereignisse hinaus eine Einordnung der Geschehnisse leisten. Diese Einordnung entsteht bei der Einbettung aktueller Ereignisse in längerfristige Entwicklungen und thematische Zusammenhänge.

Die Qualitätsdimension Professionalität wird als notwendige Voraussetzung zur Erfüllung der theoretisch begründeten Leistungsfunktionen öffentlicher Kommunikation verstanden und gründet im Selbstverständnis der journalistischen Profession. Als Indikatoren, an denen die Professionalität der Berichterstattung inhaltsanalytisch bemessen wird, dienen u.a. Sachlichkeit, Quellentransparenz und der Grad an Eigenleistung.

Wo ist das Jahrbuch erhältlich?

Das Jahrbuch Qualität der Medien erscheint gedruckt und als E-Book. Die separaten Studien Qualität der Medien können als Einzelpublikationen erworben werden. Seit 2014 erscheint zudem die Reihe Reflexionen Qualität der Medien. Hier schreiben Medienpraktiker und und -praktikerinnen über die jüngsten Entwicklungen im Medienwesen.

Wer steht hinter dem Jahrbuch Qualität der Medien?

Verantwortlich für das Jahrbuch ist das fög – Forschungsinstitut Öffentlichkeit und Gesellschaft. Das Jahrbuch ist Produkt des langjährigen Strebens, die interdisziplinären Fähigkeiten und die Infrastrukturen zu erlangen, um die öffentliche Kommunikation als wichtigsten Zugang zur Analyse des gesellschaftlichen Wandels zu erschliessen.

Der Entschluss wurde durch die unabhängige und gemeinnützige Kurt Imhof Stiftung für Medienqualität (ehem. Stiftung Öffentlichkeit und Gesellschaft) bestärkt, die sich für das Vorhaben einsetzt.

Erleichtert und angespornt wurde das Projekt durch das bisher einzige Vorbild, die imponierende jährliche Dokumentation "The State of the News Media. An Annual Report on American Journalism", die durch die Stiftung Project for Excellence (PEW) in den USA finanziert wird.

Das Jahrbuch unterstützen

Donate für die Stiftung Öffentlichkeit und Gesellschaft können überwiesen werden auf:

IBAN CH28 0070 0110 0019 9753 1

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Die Ausgaben im Überblick

Das Jahrbuch erscheint seit dem Jahr 2010. Zusätzlich erscheinen periodisch die Studien Qualität der Medien. Hier stehen sämtliche Broschüren mit den Hauptbefunden sowie weitere Materialien aus den vergangenen sechs Jahren in vier Sprachen zum Download bereit.